top of page

Jo Enright Detective Series 

Rod Hacking Book

The Springtime and The Harvest : The Lesbian Detective Series 5

A miscarriage and the murder of a baby lead Jo Enright into confrontation with a Russian Gangster and the Foreign Office as she prepares to retire from the Police Force and make a new life in Scotland as a farmer, together with the woman she has long loved and her two children. Once there, however, her daughter is sexually assaulted by her father, and Jo faces the biggest challenge of all to the now former detective when cancer is detected.

Rod Hacking Book

In the Realm of the Dead: A DCI Joanne Enright Story

When four brutal murders across the UK show all the signs of being the work of one person, a special unit is set up to solve the crimes, based in the Midlands, and includes a woman officer from Boston, Lincolnshire who quickly takes the lead. Disaster strikes the group when a member falls foul of the law, but they press on, increasingly dependent on Jo Enright, who in the course of the investigation almost ruins everything by falling in love. Increasingly the team's understanding of the significance of the murders begins to change and the team member closest to Jo is involved in a terrible accident. The climax of the book is a tour de force for women police officers, and for the newly promoted Jo, the beginning of a completely new way of being.

Rod Hacking Book

Nothing Like A Dame: The Jo Enright Lesbian Detective Series: 4

Jo and her team are asked to deal with sexual abuse of women by police men in a different area. What they uncover is shocking and in a short time two people are murdered and one of Jo's team abducted as a warning to them to leave, but Jo persists recognising the hatred so many men, even in the police force, have for women. One particularly shocking experience of rape leads to the arrest of a senior figure, but Jo and her team also have to face important changes in their own world of love and relationships. Meanwhile, back home, Jo's wife, Marie, is involved in a stand off with the Saudi government where she landed her plane, but later delivers unsettling news for Jo.

Rod Hacking Book

The Norfolk Conspiracy: The Jo Enright Lesbian Detective Series: 2

After a tragic happening in her life, Jo retreats from public life and considers ending her work as a detective. Her closest friend comes to stay with her and encourages her to recover by taking on a very important piece of work Although Jo reluctantly resists the longings of her friend be to be more than just friends, Jo returns to the fray and uncovers a terrible conspiracy within the police service to overthrow the established order, one in which they are willing to use a Russian nerve agent brought into the country by someone called Marie, with whom Jo falls headlong in love. The problem is. Jo wonders if Marie is not herself part of the conspiracy.

Rod Hacking Book

Courage Lost, Everything Lost: 6 in the Detective Series

“Jo is faced with personal tragedy and travels to Los Angeles to bring back the body of her former wife, Marie, following her suicide. Marie has left a final note for Jo in which she confesses to a serious crime and a series of betrayals, two of which have led to innocent people being imprisoned. And the terrorist threat of the Norfolk Conspiracy is once again thrown open.

Worst of all is the discovery of that Marie has betrayed Jo again and again, living a sham life as a lesbian married to a top police officer to protect herself from detection. In this book, courage is greatly needed.”

Rod Hacking Book

What's Going On? (The Lesbian Detective Series Book 3)

With Jo and Marie now married and with a baby, Jiois tempted back into the Police Force, as Marie is being drawn into the RAF as an officer. Jo is asked to lead a new special squad and the first crime, bizarrely concerns the death of three horses though she has already had to resolve a serious and sensitive problem in a cathedral focussed on the sexuality of a bishop and the Dean. The murder of two people at a religious conference is demanding because one of the victims is a close gay friend of both Jo and Marie. Marie herself experiences both an emergency landing and being hijacked in her small plane before being asked to go to America for six weeks to learn to fly huge transport aircraft. Whilst she is away Jo becomes infatuated with a lesbian reporter from whom she is rescued by her friend Sharon. She also has to lead her team into a complex set of lies around the import of drugs and the use of the nerve agent Ricin. Complexity always brings the best out of Jo, and whilst retaining her care for others, especially her team, she is as tough as can be with the perpetrators of death and misery (and those men who get in her way).

Rod Hacking Book

The Truth and Other Lies: The Lesbian Detective Series 5

36 years ago a small child was convicted of the murder of two babies. Detective Chief SuperintendentJo Enright is not convinced that it happened as it was reported and seeks to find out the truth. Meanwhile a brilliant mathematician is allegedly found dead by suicide, but again Jo and her team are unconvinced. Then the great tragedy of the murder of the beautiful journalist in love with Jo takes place, but Jo thinks this may something to do with her delving into the past. Into the midst of this is a serious collapse of trust in Jo's team when two of them are arrested by the drugs squad. Marie flies out to Egypt but also discovers she has been betrayed and in order to escape is driven to use a taser against a soldier who comes onto the flight deck to arrest her. More than anything however this is the story of a little girl and her rescue from 36 years of an unjust hell.

Rod Hacking Book

Reaping What We Sow (The Lesbian Detective Series)

Dame Jo Enright, sometime Detective Chief Superintendent, has made a huge change in her life and is now a farmer in Scotland living with her partner Darcey, and lots of sheep and cattle. They are being taught by Rhona, an experienced farmer but it is far from an idyllic existence, especially when her daughter Josie is sexually assaulted, and she and her brother Ollie come to join their mum on the farm. You can take Jo out of detection, but you can't take the detective out of Jo. Disaster comes in the form of the death through drugs of a close friend of them all, and then Jo is diagnosed with breast cancer, and during a hospital stay is betrayed by Darcey. During treatment Jo stays with a family in Edinburgh who find themselves caught in a matter that can only be resolved by the involvement of MI5.

bottom of page